Knowledgebase
How to Perform Acronis Device Backups as a User
Posted by Joshua Armstrong on 08 June 2019 02:49 PM

How to Perform Acronis Backup Tasks as a User

 

Steps:

 

1. First create a user account for the backup owner as per our guide here if it has not already been created.

2. Once the user has been created and assigned the required resources to complete the backup task, login to the Openhost user account and locate the 'Login to Backup Console' button on the device you wish to backup.

 

3. Download and install the appropriate backup agent for the device you want to backup by selecting 'Add' if you are not already prompted to select a device type.

 

 

4. This will initiate the download of the Acronis backup agent.

 

5. Once installation completes, the application will open, and you will be asked to register the device for backup. This may require you to enter the same Acronis user email and password that was set by the user in the 'Backup' menu upon logging into the Openhost dashboard.

 

6. Following a successful login, the Backup Console, will present the user with a device registration code.

 

7. Now the end user can select what content they want to backup and when on this device by selecting 'Enabled Backup' before selecting the device and the 'Backup' option on the right.

 

 

8. The backup plan menu, will allow you to create and schedule the backup tasks by configuring the available options.

 

Backup Options:

WHAT TO BACKUP:

  • Entire machine - The entire operating system installation, recommended for use with bootable media, eg flashdrive or disk.
  • Disks/volumes - Specify an entire disk volume for backup.
  • Files/folders - Specify individual files or folders for backup.
  • System state **need to check documents**

WHERE TO BACKUP:

  • Cloud storage - Selecting this option will consuming a portion of your subscriptions disk resource and store the backup data in the cloud at our datacentre.
  • Local storage - Allows the selection of a local disk for the backup to be created.
  • **WARNING** Moving a backup file once created at a specified local drive location will corrupt the backup file and cause restoration of the backup to fail.
  • Network storage - Specify a network connected storage location for backed up content.

SCHEDULE:

  • On/Off - Enables or disables the automated scheduling of the current backup plan.
  • Scheduling options - A range of scheduling options based on time or user/system activity can be configured for each backup plan.

HOW LONG TO KEEP:

  • Monthly - The number of months a backup will be kept for in monthly iterations.
  • Weekly - The number of weeks a backup will be kept for in weekly iterations.
  • Daily - The number of days a backup will be kept for in daily iterations.

ENCRYPTION:

  • On/Off - Allows the user to enable data encryption for the content specified in the backup plan. 
  • **WARNING** There is no way to recover an encrypted backup if the encryption password set by the user is lost.

 

9. Once the backup plan is created and scheduled, you can initiate the first back up to run immediately or allow the task to run as scheduled.

10. Completed backups will be displayed in the 'Backups' menu on the right to be browsed within different storage locations. 

 

 

FAQ:

Can two users backup the same device under different user accounts?

No. Logging into a second user account on one device and registering the device to the new user account, will cause the DEVICE AND ANY BACKUPS to be removed from the original user account.

 

Can I use my device while a backup is running?

You can use your device during the backup process in many cases, however we do recommend this is scheduled at a time when the device is idle.

 

I have lost my encryption password, can I still recover my data?

No. Even the admin user cannot recover your data if you lose the encryption password. Caution is recommended when using using the encryption option.

 

Can I backup my Office365 services?

Yes, you can backup Office365 accounts by adding the account as a device. This will require admin privileges on your Office365 account or the permission of your Microsoft services administrator.

 

Can the account administrator, see my backed up content?

The admin user will the the ability to browse files and backed up content from your devices via the Acronis console. If you wish to prevent the admin user from being able to see this content without your consent, you can enable the local 'Encryption' option when creating a backup plan. Any user who wishes to browse to recover an encrypted backup MUST have the encryption password. 

**WARNING** If you lose the locally set encryption password, that is set when creating the encrypted backup plan, your administrator nor Openhost will be able to de-crypt the backed up content.

 

Why did my backup fail?

Backup event logs are displayed in the 'Activities' menu. Depending on your notification settings, you will also be notified by email in the even a backup fails. Backups can fail if the device crashes, or is powered off during the backup task. Backups can be re-attempted and when setting up backup plans, the user can set different failure conditions to re-attempt the backup task in the even of a failure.

 

How long do backups take?

The time a backup takes to complete, is dependent on several factors, size and type of files that are being backed up, the processing power of the device being backed up, whether encryption is enabled or not. The first time a backup is run on a device, should be the longest any backup event should take.

(0 vote(s))
Helpful
Not helpful

Comments (0)
Post a new comment
 
 
Full Name:
Email:
Comments:
CAPTCHA Verification 
 
Please enter the text you see in the image into the textbox below (we use this to prevent automated submissions).